University Student Council (USR)

What is the University Student Council?

The University Student Council (USR) is the Participation Council of and for the students of the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. The council is mainly engaged with the quality and accessibility of the education, and the student policy of the VU. The USR has many competencies: right of consent and advisory on fields of strategic policy, organization, governance, financial support for students and the Student Charter. In this way we can ensure that the voice of the students shall always be represented within the organization.

The council has Public USR meetings where students can join and give their opinion on documents the council has prepared for the USR-CvB meetings. The council also asks students for input in the Presidium (a meeting with all faculty councils) and the UVO (a meeting with boards of associations). Finally, students can give their input by mail, Facebook or Instagram.

In addition, the council members try to influence the policy of the university in various ways by consulting with employees and by giving their independent advice. Members of the student council are also part of the Joint Assembly, in which the Works Council (OR) also participates. In this assembly, USR and OR discuss the university budget, annual report and the strategic plan. Thus, the USR is always involved in the important decisions taken at the university.

The USR 2020-2021 consists of eleven council members:

Kata RakićChairman
Soukaina AbouhssenVice Chairwoman
Kimberly van den OudenCoordinator Education & Research
Mustafa MutluCoordinator Organization & Finance/Treasurer
Alyssa TermaatCoordinator Communication
Sumeyye DalkiranGeneral Councilor
Selin ÇakmakGeneral Councilor
Rutger SelierGeneral Councilor
Kat BaronGeneral Councilor
Ayesha Noorain RizwanGeneral Councilor
Aisha MalikGeneral Councilor

Every council member is active within multiple portfolios and each portfolio is part of a committee. The University Student Council is divided into three committees: Education & Research, Organization & Finance and Communication. 

Councilmembers per committee

Committee Education & Research: Kimberly van den Ouden, Selin Çakmak, Kat Baron, Ayesha Noorain Rizwan, Mustafa Mutlu, Soukaina Abouhssen
Committee Organization & Finance: Mustafa Mutlu, Sumeyye Dalkiran, Rutger Selier, Aisha Malik, Ayesha Noorain Rizwan, Kata Rakić
Committee Communication: Alyssa Termaat, Kat Baron, Selin Çakmak, Rutger Selier, Aisha Malik, Kimberly van den Ouden, Kata Rakić

Contact and more information

University Student Council (USR)
VU Main Building
StudentenD0k, room 0D-12

Secretary Jeannetta van Baarsen
Tel: +31 (0)20 59 82291 / +31 (0)6 21202713 


Policy plan 2020-2021 USR