VU Press Office

The press officers of Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam are the first point of contact for journalists. They coordinate the handling of incoming media requests and arrange all outgoing communications with the media. That includes, for instance, communication concerning scientific and policy information and more general communication. The press officers also advise academics and administrators on their contacts with the media.


Press Officers

The press officers of Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam can be contacted by telephone on +31 (0)20 5985666 and by email at pers@vu.nl. For urgent media inquiries, they are available outside office hours on +31 (0)6 52361519.
By working from home we are more accessible during this period via our mobile number.

If you have any questions about a specific academic area, please contact one of the faculty press officers:

  • Science: Laura Janssen, Nena Speets and Annemiek Simons 
    +31 (0)20 5985219 / 06 25763097 / l.c.w.janssen@vu.nl / +31 (0)20 5988329 / 06 34192889 / n.speets@vu.nl / +31 (0)20 5989099 / 06 25763103 / a.simons@vu.nl 
            
  • Law: Annika Moerkens  
    020 5989075 / 06 34188609  annika.moerkens@vu.nl  
  •  Social Sciences: Marieke Theunissen 
    020 5989075 / 06 11512753  marieke.theunissen@vu.nl 

  • Humanities, Behavioural and Movement Sciences, Religion and Theology: Doede van der Hoeven
    +31 (0)20 5982726 /06 24505895 d.c.vander.hoeven@vu.nl
  • School of Business and Economics: Nicol Sanders  
    020 5982752 / 06 34188605 n.sanders@vu.nl 


Finding the contact details of a staff member:
If you are looking for the contact details of a specific academic staff member or another university employee, you can visit our people page.

VU Newsletter

Every two weeks, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam publishes a newsletter containing news on academic and scientific developments and the schedule for PhD defenses. Journalists can subscribe to receive this newsletter.